SYO Philharmonic

SYO Philharmonic

The SYO Philharmonic (SYOP) is the organisation’s second most senior ensemble which is comprised of 70 young musicians, comprised of strings, plus harp, full woodwind, brass, and percussion. This full-scale symphonic orchestra is an opportunity for musicians to hone their orchestral technique and ensemble skills with masterpieces of the orchestral canon. The SYO Philharmonic explore a challenging and diverse body of works, ranging from the Late-Romantic masters such as Wagner, Brahms and Tchaikovsky, to twentieth-century composers including Shostakovich, Holst and Prokofiev.

Repertoire Highlights accordion-plus accordion-minus


VERDI La Forza del Destino, Overture

BRITTEN Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra

TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 6

RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Russian Easter Festival Overture, Op. 36

RAVEL Bolero

SIBELIUS Symphony No. 2

KOEHNE Powerhouse

TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4




New Musicians

Returning Musicians
Drag View