

Sydney Youth Orchestras Inc Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held 12.30pm Sunday 26 June 2022 Sydney Conservatorium of Music 1 Conservatorium Road, Sydney, NSW 2000

Members in attendance: Stephen Bell

Board Members in attendance: Greg Levy (Acting Chair), Tim Downing (Acting Deputy Chair), Anne Cahill, Matt Campbell, Pieter Oomens

Non-members in attendance: Mia Patoulios (CEO), Daniel Placido (Company Secretary)

Apologies: Geraldine Doogue (DIR), Wallis Graham (DIR), Anthony Bell (HON. MEM), Jon North (HON.MEM), Craig Walsh (MEM), Alison Swansborough (Crowe)

Meeting opened at 12.30pm

- 1. Apologies: as above
- 2. Introduction of Board Members
 - GL introduced himself and board members present.
- 3. Minutes of the 2021 AGM
 - 3.1. Adoption of 2021 AGM Minutes

RESOLUTION: The Minutes of the 2021 AGM are adopted. Motioned: GL Seconded: TD

- 3.2. Matters Arising nil
- 4. Reports on the activities of Sydney Youth Orchestras Inc. during the period 1 January to 31 December 2021.

4.1. Chair's Report [GL]

- GL thanked MP and DP and all SYO staff for an outstanding year.
- GL thanked Board of Directors and members for their support in 2021.
- GL acknowledged that PO is retiring at the conclusion of this meeting and thanked him for his contribution to SYO.

Sydney Youth Orchestras Inc Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held 12.30pm Sunday 26 June 2022 Sydney Conservatorium of Music 1 Conservatorium Road, Sydney, NSW 2000

- 4.2. Chief Executive Officer's Report
 - MP commented on organisational challenges around COVID-19 restrictions in 2021.
 - MP thanked Board of Directors and supporters.
 - MP thanked PO for his contribution to SYO.
 - MP thanked DP for his work as Company Secretary.
- 4.3. Treasurers Report [TD]
 - TD provided commentary on financial papers.
 - TD thanked MP and SYO staff.
 - TD thanked Crowe for audit.
 - GL thanked TD for management of finance team and Risk and Audit Subcommittee to deliver the 2021 accounts.
- 5. Financial Statements relating to the period 1 January to 31 December 2021, as required under the Associations Incorporations Act 2009, Section 44.

RESOLUTION: The Financial Statements relating to the period 1 January to 31 December 2021, as presented, are adopted. Motioned: TD Seconded: MC

6. Adoption of Annual Report, including the financial statements and the report of the independent auditors for the year ending 31 December 2021.

RESOLUTION: The 2021 Annual Report, including financial statement and report of the independent auditor are adopted. Motioned: TD Seconded: PO

- 7. Ratification of board members
 - 7.1. Those members whose three-year term has expired and who are standing for re-election:
 - Ms Geraldine Doogue AO
 - Mr Greg Levy
 - Mr Tim Downing

RESOLUTION: Geraldine Doogue is re-elected as a director of the association. Motioned: GL Seconded: TD

RESOLUTION: Greg Levy is re-elected as a director of the association. Motioned: AC Seconded: PO

RESOLUTION: Tim Downing is re-elected as a director of the association. Motioned: MC Seconded: SB

- 7.2. Those members appointed as a result of casual vacancies in the membership of the board:
 - Dr Christopher Lawrence
 - Mr Andrew Wiseman

RESOLUTION: Christopher Lawrence is appointed as a result of a casual vacancy in the membership of the Board. Motion: GL Seconded: TD

RESOLUTION: Andrew is appointed as a result of a casual vacancy in the membership of the Board. Motion: AC Seconded: MC

- 8. Other Business
 - GL opened the floor for questions none asked
 - GL presented PO with a certificate of Honorary Membership of SYO.

Meeting closed at 12.45pm